This is the brass which was given to all runners who finished the main run this year.
2010 Bells Run brass

2010 bells run
2010 bells run
2010 bells run
2010 bells run
2010 bells run
2010 bells run
2010 bells run

The 21st Pattingham Bells Run, yet another successful event.

On a cold, frosty and slightly foggy October morning, the 21st Bells Run took place in the beautiful surrounding countryside of the picturesque Staffordshire village of Pattingham.

At 11.00am on Sunday 17th October 2010 saw the start of the Pattingham Bells Run, the popular multi-terrain event now in its 21st year. With nearly 800 runners taking part, the run continues to be a successful and recognised event in the running calendar. The Junior Race, introduced in 2009, continues to grow in runners entering and is seen as a future expansion of the Bells Run day.

Tony Ainsworth, the Race Director, commented on the smooth running of the race and praised all the many helpers from the village. "Without the help of those registering runners, providing drinks, marshalling the course, the start, the finish, the car parks, making and cutting the fruit cake, sorting the results and many, many more tasks, this race would not be the tremendous success that it is. Thanks to everyone".

All runners receive a Bells Run brass, which this year carried the "21" design theme, including this year's winner, David Evans No. 164 from Finchfield, Wolverhampton and a member of Wolverhampton and Bilston Althetics Club, who completed the course in 40 minutes, 32 seconds. Well done, David.

The winning lady was Tess Parkinson No 1074 from Fordhouses, Wolverhampton and a member of the same club as the winner. She completed the course in 50 minutes, 10 seconds. Congratulations, Tess.

The main run results and the junior run results are available by using the menu on the left.

Once again, thanks to all those who helped with the event. Around 150 people assist in marshalling the race and village traffic, manning the Help Desk and taking "on-the-day" registrations. Thanks also go the Pattingham Bell Ringers and the band of ladies who prepare and serve the hundreds of pieces of harvest cake with a hot cup of tea. Thanks also to the farmers for their co-operation on the actual course.

Thanks also go to all the publications and radio stations that took up our Press Releases and published details of this year's run. We would particularly like to mention Wolverhampton Chronicle, Staffordshire Journal, The Villager, Express & Star and Pattingham Parish magazine.

Raynet (communications), the Red Cross and the Community Paramedics were again on duty and we thank them for their attendance which ensures the welfare of all runners taking part in the run.

As previous years, donations will be made to various local charities including the Air Ambulance plus the Village School, the Village Playing Fields Association, Raynet and the Air Cadets, who provide our car parking attendants. Remaining proceeds from the Bells Run are given to St. Chad's Church, Pattingham.

Thank you for your support.

Publicity: Mike Coope (email:

Pattingham Church website:

Main Run Prize Winners

Position Name Club Time
1st overall David Evans W-ton & Bilston AC 40:32
2nd overall Paul Mountford Dudley & Stourbridge Harriers 43:22
3rd overall Paul Rogers Tipton Harriers 43:23
4th overall John Millington Tipton Harriers 43:47
5th overall Jamie Anderson Telford Harriers 44:15
1st Lady Tess Parkinson W-ton & Bilston AC 50:10
2nd lady Camilla Stewart   51:02
3rd Lady Jacqui Phillips Kidderminster & Stourport AC 51:12
1st Pattingham Runner Alan Griffiths   49:19
1st Pattingham Lady Ereana Parker   59:44

Junior Run Winners

Age group Order Boys Girls
Under 13 1st Billy Starling Hannah Albutt
2nd James Campbell Helen Staite
3rd Matthew Storey Francesca Storey
Under 15 1st Alexander Walker Sophie Albutt
2nd Thomas Garbett Millie Barker
3rd Matthew Anslow Sofia Fereday
Under 17 1st Sam Kapadia  
2nd Harvey Brindley  
3rd Simon Hawkins  

These are the brasses which have been issued to participants in all the runs from the first in 1990 until 2011.
1990 Bells Run brass 1991 Bells Run brass 1992 Bells Run brass 1993 Bells Run brass 1994 Bells Run brass 1995 Bells Run brass 1996 Bells Run brass 1997 Bells Run brass 1998 Bells Run brass 1999 Bells Run brass 2000 Bells Run brass 2001 Bells Run brass 2002 Bells Run brass 2003 Bells Run brass 2004 Bells Run brass 2005 Bells Run brass 2006 Bells Run brass 2007 Bells Run brass 2008 Bells Run brass 2009 Bells Run brass 2010 Bells Run brass 2011 Bells Run brass